In South Carolina, car insurance is mandatory. Unfortunately, not everyone follows this law.
State auto insurance laws mandate that you hold at least the minimum required amounts of both (1) liability coverage and (2) uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist insurance pays for the damage/losses and injuries that you sustain in the event you are involved in a car accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have car insurance.
In South Carolina, you are required to have the minimum uninsured motorist coverage:
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
If you want more coverage, you can always opt for increased limits. There is typically a $200 deductible.
The following are the five benefits of uninsured motorist coverage protection:
- You are protected against someone with inadequate insurance as well. In the event you are involved in a crash with someone that has insurance, but not enough to cover all of the damages and injuries, UM coverage can make up the financial gap.
- Your passengers are also protected. If you have passengers in your vehicle when the accident occurred and they suffered injuries, your UM coverage can pay for their medical expenses and lost wages.
- Many drivers do not have insurance. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), about 7.7% of all South Carolina drivers are driving without insurance coverage.
- Uninsured driver covers noneconomic damages. UM coverage also covers some noneconomic damages, such as pain and suffering.
- It is not that expensive. Adding UM coverage to your car insurance policy may be relatively cost effective, especially when you consider the protection it provides.
If you suffered an injury in a car accident caused by an uninsured driver in South Carolina, contact our Charleston personal injury attorney at PHSW to schedule an appointment for your free consultation today.